Moderators: richierich, ua900, PanAm_DC10, hOMSaR

itsjustme
Topic Author

Ferguson MO Ruling Imminent

Thu Nov 20, 2014 4:32 am

We can expect a ruling from the grand jury in the not too distant future regarding the shooting/slaying of Michael Brown by Ferguson police officer Darren Wilson. The jury has several options ranging from finding no probable cause to charge the officer to charging him with first degree murder. There is strong speculation the finding will be no probable cause to charge him. My question to you is, what will the jury find?

I'll throw in my 2 cents: I've tried very hard to maintain a non-bias opinion since the shooting occurred some three and a half months ago. I am a white police officer who has worked in cities with a 90% black population as well as those with a 90% white population. During my tenure as a police officer, I've been involved in roughly a dozen situations where I had to make a split second, "shoot-don't-shoot" decision. Thankfully, thus far each decision has been correct which is why I'm still alive and able to post messages on Airliners dot net. I strongly believe the jury should come back with a finding of no probable cause to charge officer Wilson. I haven't read anything to warrant any charges being levied against the officer. My fear, however is, the officer will be used as a scape goat to avoid an L.A./Rodney King type situation and he will be found guilty of involuntary manslaughter. A finding of this nature will appease the majority of those who want to see Wilson hung by his boot straps and should squelch a majority of the anticipated rioting should he not be charged with murder.

What say you?

FlightShadow

RE: Ferguson MO Ruling Imminent

Thu Nov 20, 2014 5:35 am

I agree with you--couldn't have said it any better.

Quoting itsjustme (Thread starter):
My fear, however is, the officer will be used as a scape goat

This is my fear as well.