green12324
Topic Author

Moving To Chicago

Mon Mar 09, 2015 10:02 am

Hey there,
My girlfriend and I will be moving to the Chicagoland area in the summer and need some advice on where to live. I'll be attending Lewis University and likely working as an agent at O'Hare. She's going to school downtown, picking up work wherever she can. What are some safe, affordable neighborhoods we should look at? Also, if anyone has any experience in the Chicago aviation industry I'm all ears. My major is aviation administration, and right now I'm working at a downstate airport ground handling for Trans States. They don't have any transfer opportunities, so I'll be looking to start fresh with a new company at least for the next couple years of college.

Thanks for the help

Anthony
The views expressed in this post are my own. They have not
been reviewed or approved by my employer.

Superfly

RE: Moving To Chicago

Mon Mar 09, 2015 11:58 am

Quoting Green12324 (Thread starter):
What are some safe, affordable neighborhoods we should look at?

Good luck with that one!

A place near the airport may not be as expensive.
Bring back the Concorde

kngkyle

Mon Mar 09, 2015 1:48 pm

Check out the neighborhoods along the blue line between downtown and O'Hare. Logan Square or wicker park for example.

mt99

Mon Mar 09, 2015 2:28 pm

Quoting Kngkyle (Reply 2):
Check out the neighborhoods along the blue line between downtown and O'Hare. Logan Square or wicker park for example.

Id also check out Jefferson Park - a buddy just moved round there and its safe, close to the Blue Line, Metra, expressways - a great location all around
Step into my office, baby

An-225

Mon Mar 09, 2015 2:51 pm

I live next to Cumberland blue line. No complaints in this neighborhood. You can find a decent apartment within walking distance of the station. If you walk around the neighborhood, there should be tons of FOR RENT signs up all over the place. That's how I found my place almost 3 years ago.

Alex.