stratosphere
Topic Author

Jon Stewart slams congress

Wed Jun 12, 2019 2:58 pm

I don't always agree with Jon Stewart or agree with his politics but listened to him address the house judiciary committee during an appeal to pass reauthorizing the bill to provide benefits and health care to sick firefighters and other first responders after the 9/11 attacks he was spot on. I have no doubt in my mind that 9/11 claimed far more victims than the initial attack through being exposed to toxins. I graduated HS with a guy who became an FBI agent and was tasked with going though the debris from the attack that had been moved to a landfill and came down with stage 4 non-hodgkins lymphoma and died in 2011 at age 46 and he is not the only one. Typical of politicians plenty of platitudes to go around like "never forget" but in the end they are all self serving bastards. I don't even know why I bother voting it's not like it makes a difference.
https://www.yahoo.com/entertainment/jon ... 21185.html

casinterest

Re: Jon Stewart slams congress

Wed Jun 12, 2019 3:06 pm

Good article on what happened to the fund.

https://news.yahoo.com/u-reduce-payouts ... 51934.html

7 billion sounds like a lot, but when treatments run into the hundreds of thousands it is not enough to cover the claims of these responders.

Let that sink in for a bit.

We owe it to ourselves to pay out these claims, and to find ways going forward to ensure that we have affordable healthcare for ALL.
Where ever you go, there you are.

MikeDrop

Wed Jun 12, 2019 3:13 pm

stratosphere wrote: