Mex87
Topic Author

New San Francisco International Airport (hypothetical)

Mon Aug 08, 2016 6:07 pm

Hello everyone! I have been here following you for years now but never had the need of posting, since I prefer learning from your comments in other topics.
But I posted today because I have been wondering if the city of San Francisco could, eventually, replace SFO with a newer airport, since it's operationally restricted (the runway layout doesn't help much and visibility is low sometimes, even delays are high or so I've heard). Also, is an expansion a possible solution? I mean, the Bay Area must be, environmentally speaking, a challenge.

I've also noted the vicinity of Oakland's airport. Could a single airport replace both airfields and turn the current sites into development areas and be linked by a ferry or BART service? I'm no expert on the subject, however I've been having this doubts since a while now...Specially since I have just entered an architectural competition (conceptual) to improve worldwide airports (you know, better passenger experience, flows, Eco-friendly architecture and basically turning the airport into a destination per-se), and what a better site than airliners.net due to experts and highly knowing amateurs commenting on the subject. I chose SFO because I think it's challenging but enormously rewarding and interesting. Any comments on the subject? It could be the site of an awesome airport. At least, hypothetical one.

Thanks! Have an excellent day.
Last edited by Mex87 on Mon Aug 08, 2016 6:15 pm, edited 2 times in total.

NichCage

Re: New San Francisco International Airport (hypothetical)

Mon Aug 08, 2016 6:13 pm