PSG55
Topic Author

BA at MAN

Wed Dec 21, 2016 10:59 am

Over the years, BA have obviously scaled back their operations at Manchester in favour of creating a hub at LHR and, to a lesser extent, LGW. However, with Manchester growing as a city and becoming evermore important for business, does anyone foresee a time when BA may return to offering more services from the city? They had a profitable daily service to JFK not so long ago but ditched it for LGW instead. With Virgin and many international carriers offering more and more services to the city, are BA missing a trick?

Armodeen

Re: BA at MAN

Wed Dec 21, 2016 11:06 am

Rumour is it that BA are watching the expansion of Virgin in particular carefully at MAN. I would imagine that any move into the market would be primarily to spoil it for other carriers, force them to pull out and then retreat to heathrow again (ala AA at STN).

Speaking as a MAN resident, I don't think we need or want BA back on longhaul, tbh.

LHRFlyer

Wed Dec 21, 2016 11:12 am

BA has increased coverage at MAN indirectly through codeshares with AA, EI, QR, VY etc.

BA has been able to return to a lot of markets it has withdrawn from due to its financial restructuring (Seoul, Kuala Lumpur, Reykjavik etc) and perhaps BA could serve BOS, JFK with LGW/MF crews operating W patterns.

That said, there are still huge growth opportunities for BA at LHR and LGW and I see them being focused on that in the medium term.

col

Wed Dec 21, 2016 11:31 am

BA does not need MAN and MAN definitely does not need BA. Ship sailed long ago, a few alliance partners is OK/enough. MAN needs to focus on Terminal Upgrades.

David_itl

Wed Dec 21, 2016 11:58 am

BA will be aware of the issues that have affected AA tbis year with unrelabiliy featuiring heavily. One would hope that the increased revamped 777 LGW fleet will not see all of the deployed there but allow for some limted expansion though it does seem too big, especially for winter flying

skipness1E