Moderators: jsumali2, richierich, ua900, PanAm_DC10, hOMSaR

32andBelow
Topic Author

DL68 Divert CDB- Cold Bay Alaska.

Sat Jan 14, 2017 5:01 pm

Middle of the night in a stormy aluetian island. Anyone know what happened?

https://flightaware.com/live/flight/DAL68

Francoflier

Re: DL68 Divert CDB- Cold Bay Alaska.

Sat Jan 14, 2017 5:18 pm

Probably not medical... There is precious little in Cold Bay that could have been a better option for even a very sick person than to continue to ANC.

Then again, I'm not a doctor.

milesaway826

Sat Jan 14, 2017 5:34 pm

It looks like the flight originally landed in King Salmon (AKN). Could there be an error?

910A

Sat Jan 14, 2017 5:34 pm

Maybe Delta should just add Cold Bay to their route map. What is this the 3rd time they landed there. Did they try to land at King Salmon first?

hiflyeras

Sat Jan 14, 2017 5:38 pm

Not good...winter in the Aleutians is brutal. AA had a diversion to Cold Bay back in October of last year...AS helped ferry the customers out to ANC. Wonder if DL will have to ask for assistance. ;)

910A

Sat Jan 14, 2017 6:00 pm

hiflyeras wrote:
Not good...winter in the Aleutians is brutal. AA had a diversion to Cold Bay back in October of last year...AS helped ferry the customers out to ANC. Wonder if DL will have to ask for assistance. ;)

According the Delta.com the ground time is now basically 3 hrs now, it was earlier 90 minutes.

SFOtoORD

Sat Jan 14, 2017 6:13 pm

Looks like DL may be flying a relief 763 in.

https://flightaware.com/live/flight/DAL9936

MSPNWA

Sat Jan 14, 2017 6:38 pm

milesaway826 wrote:
It looks like the flight originally landed in King Salmon (AKN). Could there be an error?

I see it as they were initially attempting to get to AKN. Must have been serious to cut that short and cut left to CDB. Not the time of year you want to be landing in the Aleutians.

clrd4t8koff

Sat Jan 14, 2017 6:45 pm