OA940
Topic Author

Chances of Teterboro getting commercial air service?

Fri Sep 29, 2017 5:59 pm

If it happened, then what would the demand be? I'd also guess there would be a nighttime curfew. I think it is entirely possible, but I'm no expert. I just think it would be cool to see 737's or even E-Jets flying out of it (jk).
Last edited by atcsundevil on Sat Sep 30, 2017 6:24 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Edited spelling in title
A350/CSeries = bae

jnev3289

Re: Chances of Teteboro getting commercial air service?

Fri Sep 29, 2017 6:04 pm

Not sure if this was ever overturned, but according to Wikipedia, there is a ban on aircraft over 100,000 lbs in TEB.
https://web.archive.org/web/20070428131 ... 091003.htm

GalaxyFlyer

Fri Sep 29, 2017 6:52 pm

Impossible, there's no room for a terminal without big, BIG bucks buying up in-place operations. Then, there's the locals who have money and plenty of passion in opposing it.

GF

atcsundevil

Fri Sep 29, 2017 6:54 pm

There's pretty just no chance. TEB is the primary airport for private aircraft serving NYC. Congestion at JFK, LGA, and EWR make TEB the only viable alternative for most non-commercial flights. And just like the other three, TEB is MASSIVELY congested with huge operational numbers. TEB has a defined purpose, and that won't be changed to bring more commercial flights to the region.

TUSDawg23

Fri Sep 29, 2017 7:05 pm

atcsundevil wrote:
There's pretty just no chance. TEB is the primary airport for private aircraft serving NYC. Congestion at JFK, LGA, and EWR make TEB the only viable alternative for most non-commercial flights. And just like the other three, TEB is MASSIVELY congested with huge operational numbers. TEB has a defined purpose, and that won't be changed to bring more commercial flights to the region.

I think there are other viable alternatives besides TEB for non-commercial flights. FRG, HPN and MMU are a few that come to mind.

stlgph

Fri Sep 29, 2017 7:22 pm