questions
Topic Author

Delta: AMS vs CDG

Mon Aug 06, 2018 6:12 am

For comparisons, how many routes, flights and passengers does DL fly to AMS and CDG?

Strategically are the two hubs used the same in DL’s network or does each serve a unique purpose?

Even though AF-KLM is one organization and DL has a TATL JV, is there any indication which hub DL prefers — operationally, financially, etc?

VSMUT

Re: Delta: AMS vs CDG

Mon Aug 06, 2018 6:56 am

questions wrote:
For comparisons, how many routes, flights and passengers does DL fly to AMS and CDG?

According to wikipedia, 10 routes to Amsterdam and 11+2 seasonal to Paris.

I am by no means an expert, but I would think that Amsterdam tends to be more for connecting passengers, while CDG leans more towards origin and destination. Paris is number 3 on the most visited cities in the world.

Iemand91

Mon Aug 06, 2018 9:50 am

Iemand91 wrote:
At AMS up to 20 daily flights to 10 destinations: (this summer)
JFK 2x
BOS 2x
DTW 4x
ATL 3x
MSP 3x
PDX 1x
SEA 2x
SLC 1x
MCO 1x
LAX 1x (LAX is the only non daily flight; it's 4x per week)

viewtopic.php?p=20612985#p20610293
Some aviation photo's on my Flickr-page: https://www.flickr.com/photos/iemand91/

zackary747

Mon Aug 06, 2018 10:07 am

VSMUT wrote:
questions wrote:

According to wikipedia, 10 routes to Amsterdam and 11+2 seasonal to Paris.

I am by no means an expert, but I would think that Amsterdam tends to be more for connecting passengers, while CDG leans more towards origin and destination. Paris is number 3 on the most visited cities in the world.

PIT/IND/RDU/CVG-CDG rely heavily on connecting traffic (and cargo) to make those routes successful.
Indianapolis Airport Spotter

Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, Instagram, Flickr

abauds201

Mon Aug 06, 2018 10:34 am

Not an expert either, but i have heard AMS is preferred operationally as CDG has a convoluted bag sorting process (much more misconnects/losses than ams) along with AF labor strikes

jumpjets