Moderators: jsumali2, richierich, ua900, PanAm_DC10, hOMSaR

maps4ltd
Topic Author

AA cuts CLT-TUS and ERI-PHL, announces ERI-ORD and ERI-CLT, "still evaluating" CLT-SJC

Wed Oct 31, 2018 3:47 pm

Hello. This is my first time posting a thread, so corrections and suggestions would be helpful.

Erie News Now reports that American is starting flights from ERI to Chicago and Charlotte on May, with 2x daily CLT and 1x ORD. It also plans to discontinue its flights from ERI-PHL; according to the article, the airport manager worked with AA "to make the changes because there were too many weather delays, and Erie travelers found the service unreliable." I'm not sure that's the whole story, but it's all I could find so far. The link is here:

http://www.erienewsnow.com/story/39391563/american-airlines-to-offer-service-from-erie-to-charlotte-and-chicago-discontinue-flights-to-philadelphia

In other AA route news, the carrier says it plans to cancel its Charlotte-Tucson route on February 14, about a year after it commenced. Spokeswoman Cyril Byrd said that the route was "underperforming." In addition, she said American was "still evaluating" their CLT-SJC flight, which started in 2016 and runs on a seasonal basis. I don't know what to make of that. Anyway, the link to the article is below:

https://www.wsoctv.com/news/local/aa-nixing-new-flight-at-charlotte-douglas-evaluating-another/863229129

I may have missed other route news, but I'd like to hear your opinions on these changes. Thanks!
Delta Gold Medallion

FA9295

Re: AA cuts CLT-TUS and ERI-PHL, announces ERI-ORD and ERI-CLT, "still evaluating" CLT-SJC

Wed Oct 31, 2018 3:56 pm

Welcome!

Interesting to hear about their CLT-SJC route. CLT-SMF is also seasonal as well, so maybe that'll get evaluated as well...

Sad to see CLT-TUS go, but I guess it makes sense. I guess that people from Tucson can connect to most destinations that CLT offers from DFW instead...

flyboy7974