J343
Topic Author

Long Haul Low Cost Airlines Operations

Sun Apr 28, 2019 10:26 pm

This has just popped in my mind.

Oasis Hong Kong Airlines was a low cost airline based in Hong Kong with services to LGW and YVR using ex-SQ and ex-ANA B744s. I was only 14 when I first flew with them LGW-HKG which was in fact their very last flight before they went into liquidation.

Now my question is: where did they go wrong? Was it the competition between the LON-HKG market with CX, BA, VS, NZ and QF serving the market back then or was it the ridiculously low fare (IIRC, my dad paid £197 each- luckily it was only a one way ticket).? Now, we have Norwegian serving LGW-SIN and such. What exactly went wrong? Was there just no market or demand for low cost long haul operations?

I am no expert in Aviation, I just want some insights as part of my university assignment analysing the global airline market

Thank you all :)

Ishrion

Re: Long Haul Low Cost Airlines Operations

Sun Apr 28, 2019 10:30 pm

How full were their flights? There was most likely a high demand with 6 carriers on the route... even today.

Eitilt

Sun Apr 28, 2019 10:38 pm

I seem to recall that they bought their 747’s which used up a lot of their cash and reduced their financial flexibility to overcome the initial
start up problems.

J343
Topic Author

Mon Apr 29, 2019 12:10 am

Ishrion wrote:
How full were their flights? There was most likely a high demand with 6 carriers on the route... even today.