blueglacier737
Topic Author

Unverified: Fiji Airways skips 737 MAX quality inspections.

Fri Jul 19, 2019 11:06 am

Hello all,

I'm a mechanic on the 737 MAX final assembly in Renton, Washington. A Fiji Airways 737 MAX-8 has been making its way down the assembly line with installation plans (the build authority) that doesn't include most of the standard quality inspections MAX's receive.

Boeing has three quality inspection levels on the assembly line: QA, Customer Coordinator, and the Airline Customers. The QA's are the first level of inspectors, usually finding around 80% of nonconformities. The Customer Coordinators conduct the next inspections and usually find the bigger nonconformities like nicked wires or riding conditions that could endanger the aircraft's safety. Once the Coordinators are satisfied they call the Airline Customer to give it final buyoff. The Airline Customers rarely find anything significant and sometimes let the Coordinators give final buyoffs themselves.

This Fiji Airway's MAX-8 however only has a single level of QA inspections on many critical installations where nonconformities could compromise the plane's safety. On several installations this was first time I'd hadn't seen at least two sets of required inspections. As much as I appreciate the work of our QA's there are still important flaws that escape them that are later found by the Coordinators. I've had Coordinators find lost tools, sharp FOD, nicked wires and loose nut plates that even experienced QA's have missed.