Moderators: jsumali2, richierich, ua900, PanAm_DC10, hOMSaR

CarlosSi
Topic Author

New Midwest Express dead? And how it should have restarted

Mon Apr 12, 2021 3:09 am

Not much news for the revived Midwest Express brand so it seems. Looks like covid killed it?

Perhaps, what would have been a better way for the airline to get restarted and what went wrong/is wrong with their current strategy?

I'm no business expert, but based on successful airline stories, a couple points I would have done differently:

-Not use CRJ aircraft. Nothing smaller than an E75. Maybe some leased a220 (if those exist now) or some cheap e190s that have recently been retired (heck Delta is letting to some 717s...). I guess that might be too big, but it's efficient. Personally E75s are very popular with passengers and are decently-sized. Without having to deal with scope, maybe a sweet deal from Embraer on some some E175-E2s as they aren't doing well in the US? Even just a few.

-Not rely on some third-party to fly their planes (Elite Airways?). Something about outsourcing your main and only product seems sketchy.

-Focus on routes with no service out of MKE and with potential higher-yield and high PDEW. I guess they did ok here with that. I forget what routes they had announced.