Moderators: richierich, ua900, PanAm_DC10, hOMSaR

a320fan
Topic Author

Qantas expects A380 fleet to return

Wed Apr 14, 2021 8:09 am

Alan Joyce has made claims at a conference today that QF expects to reactivate the A380 fleet once international demand returns, saying they’ve ‘spent lots of money on them’ and ‘once demand is their they’re going to be good aircraft’ he’s also claimed that when needed the fleet can be reactivated in 3-6 months.

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles ... R8cAH1aDg0

readytotaxi

Re: Qantas expects A380 fleet to return

Wed Apr 14, 2021 9:02 am

I have a question, if you are maintaining your stored aircraft well why does it take up to six months to return them to service? I have no knowledge of operation requirements hence the question.

FluidFlow

Wed Apr 14, 2021 9:30 am

Might be from the actual go until the whole fleet is back in service. So pilots need training again and if they do one aircraft at a time, it might stretch the timeline.

Polot

Wed Apr 14, 2021 9:49 am

readytotaxi wrote:
I have a question, if you are maintaining your stored aircraft well why does it take up to six months to return them to service? I have no knowledge of operation requirements hence the question.

Maintaining the aircraft well in storage doesn’t mean they are performing all the necessary maintenance to keep them airworthy for commercial services. Just that they are doing necessary checks for long term storage.

Kent350787

Wed Apr 14, 2021 10:33 am

All crew have been stood down. By the time they’re needed towards 2023 many will be starting from scratch for certification.

a320fan
Topic Author

Wed Apr 14, 2021 10:47 am

readytotaxi wrote:

Many A380 pilots have left the company, and those that may return or are still with QF will need retraining after likely 2+ years of not flying.

ContinentalEWR

Wed Apr 14, 2021 10:57 am

readytotaxi wrote: