Moderators: jsumali2, richierich, ua900, PanAm_DC10, hOMSaR

triley1057
Topic Author

Cost Of Diversions

Fri Jun 06, 2003 4:23 pm

Yesterday, a KLM 747 enroute from AMS-IAH had to divert to DFW due to severe weather at IAH. I was just wondering how much it costs an airline when this happens? I imagine it has got to cost quite a pretty penny. Also, if a passenger gets sick in flight, is there any insurance that covers this or do the airlines foot the bill?

RE: Cost Of Diversions

Fri Jun 06, 2003 11:33 pm

Diversion costs are beyond my mind... as a pilot, I keep that it mind, I go if I am absolutely, positively sure I am going to get where I am scheduled to go.
xxx
Suppose my flight is with 300 passengers, Buenos Aires to Madrid...
One hour out of Madrid, despite good weather forecast, Barajas is below minimums, will not improve for hours...
xxx
So we land in Barcelona... it is not our staff, it is Iberia handling us, the crew is tired, need to locate hotel, then hotel (airline obligation) for passengers, this will be say... 200 rooms at $100 each... "airline discount rate"...
xxx
Some passengers had ongoing reservations, Iberia does not care much, it is not their passengers - they rebook them on other flights out of Barcelona.
xxx
The return crew (who was in Madrid) is flown to Barcelona (on Iberia) and we have to pay for these tickets - no discounts - "must fly..." and our passengers in Madrid wait for our plane, are given a lunch and a drink at the airport, miserable food at twice the price of normal restaurants...
xxx
Our plane goes to Madrid (we decide to fly as passengers with them) with the fresh pilot crew. Takes 15,000 liters of jet fuel to do so, and we have to pay handling and landing fees incurred in Barcelona... $3,000... the fuel, I dont even mention...
xxx