Moderators: jsumali2, richierich, ua900, PanAm_DC10, hOMSaR

727LOVER
Topic Author

What Are Airtran's Plans For ATL?

Wed Aug 20, 2003 12:04 am

They've got a gate problem, not enough--thanks Delta  Angry I heard they are going to build a new terminal. Has this even begun? Completion date? Why don't they want NW's old base instead of building a new one> By the way, does this mean they will do their own maintenance and not be at the whims of the Sabretechs of this world?
"We must accept finite disappointment, but never lose infinite hope." - Martin Luther King, Jr.

luv2fly

RE: What Are Airtran's Plans For ATL?

Wed Aug 20, 2003 12:15 am

Well I have no first hand knowledge, I do expect that they will be announcing a second hub and possiblely a focus city or two. Anyone can see that right now ATL is maxed and will only get tighter until they add more space. I can see DL not liking that idea. With the new planes coming on line in less than a year it should be interesting to see all the changes that will be happening quickly. I could see also more point to point flights in markets that will support it and thus they would overfly ATL.
You can cut the irony with a knife

WNfan

Wed Aug 20, 2003 12:21 am

I too would like to see more point-to-point flights, and that's likely what will happen. BOS-PHL and MKE-BWI are examples of non-ATL, non-MCO routes that FL has already created. Let's see more. (They used to have MDW-PIT and MDW-ICT, but those were withdrawn due to lack of passengers.)

potomac

Wed Aug 20, 2003 12:38 am

as far as focus cities/mini-hubs go, FL stepped into BWI very quickly after US closed their hub there, and they have been steadily adding service. a likely candidate for a 2nd hub.

luv2fly

Wed Aug 20, 2003 12:39 am

BWI would work as a hub, could offer flights that do not compete with WN routes and it would be very profitable.
You can cut the irony with a knife

rumorboy

Wed Aug 20, 2003 12:51 am