Moderators: jsumali2, richierich, ua900, hOMSaR

 
UK_Dispatcher
Topic Author
Posts: 2254
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2001 8:44 pm

BA Connect BAe 146-100 - How Can I Fly It?

Fri Feb 23, 2007 10:12 pm

I have just been looking on the internet for details of currently active BAe 146-100s after returning from BKK where I saw one from Druk Air (Bhutan) parked up in the same place every time I passed the airport.

I am guessing that the only scheduled carriers still operating the -100 series are:

BA Connect (UK)

• Druk Air (Bhutan)

• Asian Spirit (Philippines)

• Air Botswana

• China Eastern

• Albanian Airlines


The most simple way of flying the type would be to try and catch a flight on G-MABR, BA Connect’s only example of the -100 series. The only problem is knowing which route(s) it will be flying on any particular day, as it was always a backup a/c when I used to see it at MAN and I suspect it still is. Does anyone have any recent information on this aircraft?

Also, if anyone has any more updated information on the airlines above operating the -100, please let me know. I suspect that maybe China Eastern may no longer operate the type…

Any info appreciated.
 
vfw614
Posts: 3828
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2001 12:34 am

RE: BA Connect BAe 146-100 - How Can I Fly It?

Fri Feb 23, 2007 11:17 pm

AFAIK, it is IOM based and operates to LGW from there. As the route is part of the BACON take over by FlyBE, the -100 will most likely disappear this year as FlyBE will be disposing of the BACON fleet.
 
User avatar
Aisak
Posts: 918
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 10:56 pm

RE: BA Connect BAe 146-100 - How Can I Fly It?

Sat Feb 24, 2007 12:09 am

Well, it's not BAcon but if you're interested on flying the BAe 146-100 there's one from WDL operating for Air Nostrum.

Its daily routing is: LYS-MAD-EAS-MAD-EAS-MAD-NCE-MAD-LYS

* EAS: San Sebastián, Euskadi, Spain

You may give it a try. Air Nostrum service is really wonderful
 
BA787
Posts: 2381
Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2006 9:40 pm

RE: BA Connect BAe 146-100 - How Can I Fly It?

Sat Feb 24, 2007 2:05 am

Correct me irf I am wrong, but BA do not operate the 146-100 unless you mean the RJ100. And if you mean the -300s, they are with flyBe as of January. RJ100s still operate from LCY though
 
BMED
Posts: 722
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2004 11:01 pm

RE: BA Connect BAe 146-100 - How Can I Fly It?

Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:09 am

Quoting BA787 (Reply 3):
BA do not operate the 146-100

They had a tiny fleet but they do operate the type. If you search the photo database the aircraft comes up.
Living the jetset life! No better way to be
 
sk736
Posts: 730
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 4:47 am

RE: BA Connect BAe 146-100 - How Can I Fly It?

Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:30 am

Quoting BA787 (Reply 3):
Correct me irf I am wrong, but BA do not operate the 146-100 unless you mean the RJ100.

You're wrong I'm afraid. They operate a 146-100 G-MABR, as stated above primarily on the IOM/LGW route.

[Edited 2007-02-23 20:32:01]
 
G-CIVP
Posts: 1561
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2001 6:38 am

RE: BA Connect BAe 146-100 - How Can I Fly It?

Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:43 am

Just to add, everyone is correct. G-MABR does LGW-IOM. I suggest if you want to fly it, book to go out on a Saturday morning as it will not be full of business travellers and may be cheaper. This said, your not missing much having been on it twice late last year!
 
ba757gla
Posts: 724
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2006 6:00 am

RE: BA Connect BAe 146-100 - How Can I Fly It?

Sat Feb 24, 2007 7:34 am

Seems this a/C is a rare species ! So it flys IOM -LGW and nowhere else?
 
PlymSpotter
Posts: 10674
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 7:32 am

RE: BA Connect BAe 146-100 - How Can I Fly It?

Sat Feb 24, 2007 10:16 pm

Quoting Ba757gla (Reply 7):
Seems this a/C is a rare species ! So it flys IOM -LGW and nowhere else?

Pretty much, although it may be subbed for something else should the flight go tech, and obviously weather at IOM does affect the flights operations. I got a flight on it last December, didn't think it was showing it's age that much, but it will almost certainly be the first aircraft to disappear from the fleet when FlyBe take over, as they currently operate the 200/300, but not the 100, so I expect it'll go for commonality purposes. I think I paid £70 one way for LGW-IOM, not too bad and then as I did, you can fly back into MAN with EuroManx on the Dash8-Q200 which is another unusual aircraft for the UK, again a reasonable fair of about £40 or so. Thanks to Andy (Skidmarks) for the continued updates and information on the -100's routing.


Dan Smile
...love is just a camouflage for what resembles rage again...
 
David_itl
Posts: 6401
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2001 7:39 am

RE: BA Connect BAe 146-100 - How Can I Fly It?

Sun Feb 25, 2007 7:23 am

Quoting PlymSpotter (Reply 8):
will almost certainly be the first aircraft to disappear from the fleet when FlyBe take over,

Looking at the planned basing of aircraft for the summer, IOM has 1 146 and MAN 1 146 (down from 2 146s). If I wanted to forecast which 146 is for the IOM, I'd say G-MANS with MA represent Manx Airlines and NS representing EGNS as in the ICAO code for the Isle of Man.
 
gilesdavies
Posts: 2331
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2003 7:51 pm

RE: BA Connect BAe 146-100 - How Can I Fly It?

Sun Feb 25, 2007 7:27 am

The BA Connect 146-100 also operates on the LTN-IOM route.

That could be an option.
 
David_itl
Posts: 6401
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2001 7:39 am

RE: BA Connect BAe 146-100 - How Can I Fly It?

Sun Feb 25, 2007 7:51 am

Quoting Gilesdavies (Reply 10):
LTN-IOM route.

Wasn't that pulled in favour of a 4th IOM-LGW service at the start of the winter timetable?
 
PlymSpotter
Posts: 10674
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 7:32 am

RE: BA Connect BAe 146-100 - How Can I Fly It?

Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:15 am

Quoting David_itl (Reply 11):
Wasn't that pulled in favour of a 4th IOM-LGW service at the start of the winter timetable?

Yes, LTN was pulled as of a while ago.


Dan Smile
...love is just a camouflage for what resembles rage again...
 
loalq
Posts: 209
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 6:24 pm

RE: BA Connect BAe 146-100 - How Can I Fly It?

Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:45 am

Swiss too still flies the 146-100, don't they? Very common in and out of LCY.
"...this is your captain speaking. We have a small problem. All four engines have stopped."
 
Baron52ta
Posts: 182
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2005 1:52 am

RE: BA Connect BAe 146-100 - How Can I Fly It?

Sun Feb 25, 2007 12:21 pm

You could always ask for a ride in Blair Force One since your paying for it for the Royal who don't use it
http://eu.airliners.net/photos/photos/1/7/5/1159571.jpg


here are a couple of others


http://eu.airliners.net/photos/middle/3/7/7/1180773.jpg
http://eu.airliners.net/photos/photos/8/1/6/1180618.jpg

sorry not much help
david
also forgot Blue One has some

[Edited 2007-02-25 04:38:18]
 
Ndebele
Posts: 2850
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2001 3:16 am

RE: BA Connect BAe 146-100 - How Can I Fly It?

Sun Feb 25, 2007 4:27 pm

Quoting Loalq (Reply 13):
Swiss too still flies the 146-100, don't they?

No they don't, but they do operate the RJ85 and RJ100.

Also keep in mind that UK_Dispatcher asked for BAe146-100 in service, not RJ70.
 
loalq
Posts: 209
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 6:24 pm

RE: BA Connect BAe 146-100 - How Can I Fly It?

Sun Feb 25, 2007 10:15 pm

Quoting Ndebele (Reply 15):
Quoting Loalq (Reply 13):
Swiss too still flies the 146-100, don't they?

No they don't, but they do operate the RJ85 and RJ100.

Well, I got confused now...what is the difference between the BAe 146-100 and the BAe Avro 146-RJ100? I thought they were the same...
"...this is your captain speaking. We have a small problem. All four engines have stopped."
 
BA787
Posts: 2381
Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2006 9:40 pm

RE: BA Connect BAe 146-100 - How Can I Fly It?

Sun Feb 25, 2007 10:18 pm

Sorry people, I didn't rralise they operated them, I thought the a/c had been phased out. Sorry
 
Strathpeffer
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:10 pm

RE: BA Connect BAe 146-100 - How Can I Fly It?

Sun Feb 25, 2007 10:30 pm

Quoting Loalq (Reply 16):
what is the difference between the BAe 146-100 and the BAe Avro 146-RJ100? I thought they were the same...

The RJ100 is an upgraded 146-300. The RJ70 is the equivalent upgrades on the 146-100.

PJ
Another Technical Problem?
 
Humberside
Posts: 3236
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 12:44 am

RE: BA Connect BAe 146-100 - How Can I Fly It?

Sun Feb 25, 2007 10:48 pm

Quoting Loalq (Reply 16):
Well, I got confused now...what is the difference between the BAe 146-100 and the BAe Avro 146-RJ100? I thought they were the same...

The Avro RJ range is an updated version of the BAe 146 range (like B737NG replacing B737 Clasics)

The Avro RJ70 replaced the BAe 146-100, the Avro RJ85 replaced the BAe 146-200 and the Avro RJ100 replaced the BAe 146-300
Visit the Air Humberside Website and Forum

Popular Searches On Airliners.net

Top Photos of Last:   24 Hours  •  48 Hours  •  7 Days  •  30 Days  •  180 Days  •  365 Days  •  All Time

Military Aircraft Every type from fighters to helicopters from air forces around the globe

Classic Airliners Props and jets from the good old days

Flight Decks Views from inside the cockpit

Aircraft Cabins Passenger cabin shots showing seat arrangements as well as cargo aircraft interior

Cargo Aircraft Pictures of great freighter aircraft

Government Aircraft Aircraft flying government officials

Helicopters Our large helicopter section. Both military and civil versions

Blimps / Airships Everything from the Goodyear blimp to the Zeppelin

Night Photos Beautiful shots taken while the sun is below the horizon

Accidents Accident, incident and crash related photos

Air to Air Photos taken by airborne photographers of airborne aircraft

Special Paint Schemes Aircraft painted in beautiful and original liveries

Airport Overviews Airport overviews from the air or ground

Tails and Winglets Tail and Winglet closeups with beautiful airline logos