Moderators: jsumali2, richierich, ua900, PanAm_DC10, hOMSaR

loalq
Topic Author

LX447 - Bizarre Situation On Board!

Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:00 am

I am more than used to flying (I work as a sales manager...) but this was the first time that something like this happened to me. I was in London last thursday and came back to Switzerland in LX447 LCY-GVA (dep. originally 17h30).

After some delay of 45 min we finally boarder HB-IXN (an Avro 146-100) when the FA came on speakers and announced:

"Ladies and gentlemen, as you know this flight is completely booked and as it is raining today in London the runway is a little bit wet for such a heavy airplane. In order to privilege the transportation of all passenger to Geneva today, the Captain decided to disembark all of the catering trolleys so to make the airplane lighter. As an outcome of this, we will only be able to offer a very limited service on-board. Thank you for your understanding."

Anyway, takeoff and the rest of the flight were pretty uneventful (they served sandwiches and water to some pax).

I saw the trolleys outside (10 or 11) and by no means I am willing to trade flight safety for snacks, but it kept me wondering what difference getting rid of those catering trolleys really represented to an airplane that is able to lift 46'000Kg...because if it REALLY meant anything, then I suppose we took-off in some very tight envelope...

Regards, Loalq.
"...this is your captain speaking. We have a small problem. All four engines have stopped."

jetdeltamsy

RE: LX447 - Bizarre Situation On Board!

Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:26 am

Maximum take-off weights are never exceeded (intentionally).

It is, in fact, a matter of safety.

ERJ's in the US go out with less than a full load of passengers because of a high number of bags or extra fuel. It's aggrevating as hell if you're the one who doesn't get on board, but that's life with regional jets.
Tired of airline bankruptcies....EA/PA/TW and finally DL.

legacy135