Moderators: jsumali2, richierich, ua900, PanAm_DC10, hOMSaR

airplanenut
Topic Author

Are Scholarships Available For Flight Training?

Mon Apr 23, 2007 1:27 pm

I've wanted to fly for years, and one of my summer goals this years is to earn my PPL. Unfortunately, in the Boston area, aircraft rentals are very expensive--the only airport I can access without a car has available a Piper Tomahawk for $85/hr or a Warrior or C172 for $109/hr, not including $45/hr for an instructor.

I believe I can probably scrape together the money, but I was wondering if anyone knew of any scholarships that may be available to help cover lessons. The last thing I want to do is go into any sort of debt for something that's not necessary. If it helps, I'm a 20-year-old college student (MIT) studying aeronautical engineering.

Thanks,

Jeremy
Why yes, in fact, I am a rocket scientist...

wdleiser

RE: Are Scholarships Available For Flight Training?

Mon Apr 23, 2007 2:23 pm

I don't really think so. I am flying at Embry Riddle and I am paying even more than you are. All you can really do is take out loans and hope your MIT AE degree brings in the big bucks so you can buy your own plane... which of course I will be happy to fly for you

CaptainTim

Mon Apr 23, 2007 3:08 pm

MIT AE?

screw flying... you'll be on test flights being the flight engineer  Wink hopefully the Boeing 797 in a few years time eh  Wink

some universities have flying scholarships and some aviation clubs on a regular basis give out free flights here and there but a scholarship program all the way up to PPL? unheard of other than the cadet programmes from airlines overseas like Cathay Pacific, SQ, BA had one, QAntas...

but seriously MIT AE... i hope you'll find yourself blasting off in Florida and living in Houston hint hint?

go be an astronaut =)
Gulfstream Planeview Cockpit: "why have hundreds of buttons when a CCD does the same thing and more?"

jpdflymhtmlb

Tue Apr 24, 2007 1:03 am