Moderators: richierich, ua900, PanAm_DC10, hOMSaR

bcoz
Topic Author

Talk Of COU/ORD RJ Service

Wed Aug 29, 2007 4:11 am

Today's Columbia Daily Tribune reports that "extremely sensitive" negotations are underway with an "unnamed airline" to begin twice-daily RJ service between Columbia and Chicago. I have to assume that we are talking UAX or Eagle here and "Chicago" means ORD...although stranger things have happened before.

Seems they are trying to pool together $2 million in loss protection for the airline.

Wish they would have had RJ service back when I was a student at Mizzou. We only had the TransStates J31s and J41s.

http://showmenews.com/2007/Aug/20070828News001.asp

bcoz

[Edited 2007-08-28 21:12:10]

Cubsrule

RE: Talk Of COU/ORD RJ Service

Wed Aug 29, 2007 4:25 am

I said in another thread a while ago that COU ought to be after service to ORD, and I think that the service is more viable long-term than prop service to MCI or STL because of the existence of a legitimate local market (as well as vastly better connecting opportunities at ORD as compared to MCI particularly but also, increasingly, STL).

XJ to MEM might also be something that could work.

quickmover

Wed Aug 29, 2007 4:29 am

I wish they would think about UAX service to DEN.
Or maybe Lynx Q400 service to DEN. Service to MCI or STL is nice, but not really needed considering the short drive. ORD, DEN, ATL, or DFW would open up not only the local o/d traffic that won't drive that distance, but also an enourmous number of connections at any of these hubs.

[Edited 2007-08-28 21:30:34]

[Edited 2007-08-28 21:59:43]

chase

Wed Aug 29, 2007 9:33 am

> Executive Director Jim Divincen pitched the idea of changing the airport’s name to include Lake of the Ozarks
Huh. Interesting. LotO is kind of far from COU, but I guess there's nothing closer that has any better chance of getting service.

Quoting Quickmover (Reply 2):
Service to MCI or STL is nice, but not really needed