flaps30
Topic Author

How Come Southwest Does Not Fly Any Red-eyes?

Tue Jun 11, 2013 10:08 pm

I have been flying WN regularly for at least 25 years and always have wondered why they do not fly any red-eye's. Now I know for a long time they did not fly coast to coast, but now they do and have been for a while. I also know they have a few flights that land at various cities around midnight to 1 am but I am talking about a true red-eye flight that departs the west coast late at night and arrives on the east coast in the morning. Does this type of flying not fit into their business model or ops model?
every day is a good day to fly

flaps30
Topic Author

Tue Jun 11, 2013 10:40 pm

Quoting Jasoncrh (Reply 1):
it's because they fly their airplanes to the maximum each day

Dont most airlines do the same? Other airlines that have high utilization still fly red-eye's.
every day is a good day to fly

Spacepope

Tue Jun 11, 2013 10:58 pm

Quoting flaps30 (Reply 2):

I think he's alluding to the needless use of apostrophes when you talk about red eyes. Plural words don't have them. Possessive nouns and contractions do. Someone needs to post Bob the Angry Flower's guide.
The last of the famous international playboys

JONC777

Tue Jun 11, 2013 11:25 pm

Its mostly a contract issue. . .fas working redeyes would make the same as if it was a charter, which is a lot more than the regular rate. I'm sure that WN will have red eyes eventually, it would be great feed for early morning originators in places like MDW ATL HOU DAL BWI and possibly MCO. But, WN just hasnt reached the point of being interested yet I suppose.

SurfandSnow

Tue Jun 11, 2013 11:32 pm

If you're talking about red eyes, it's because they fly their airplanes to the maximum each day and need the overnight time for maintenance.