Moderators: jsumali2, richierich, ua900, PanAm_DC10, hOMSaR

FlyASAGuy2005
Topic Author

Expansion Plans - Present/Future For CLT?

Sat Apr 04, 2015 8:29 pm

Hi all, I'm new to the CLT area. There seems to be a lot going on in and around the airport and I was just wondering if anyone had any insight into CLT's "master plan" and what we can expect over the next 10+ years. From what i've seen already:

-Roadwork being done to alter inbound traffic for better flow to the parking decks.
-Several new parking decks up and about to be open.
-Car rental companies relocating (is this temporary? are they planning on building a consolidated facility?)
-New in-line baggage sortation system almost complete.
-Breaking ground for a new express transfer point for E-con sometime this year or early next year.

What i've heard but can't confirm:

-Checkin and baggae claim to be build out further and have a similar setup on the checkin side like ATL (curbside check-in etc.)
-Extension of A-con
-Extension of B-con
What gets measured gets done.

IAHflyer97

RE: Expansion Plans - Present/Future For CLT?

Sat Apr 04, 2015 8:36 pm

In terms of carriers. I'm sure AA will lower CLT to about 400-500 daily departures. CLt is killer for connections to really anywhere on the coasts. Plus they've got decent European service and a really good Carribbean network. So they've got that going for them. However, South America I'm assuming is out of the question considering US just axed GRU and GIG.

Along with keeping a good AA presence, LH will stay how they are and I can see BA and QR landing there at some point. A 788 on BA and 77L on QR should be fine! And maybe... Maybe CLT-NRT. But that's a stretch.
A man is only as big as the amount of strings on his guitar.

FlyASAGuy2005
Topic Author

Sat Apr 04, 2015 9:01 pm

Quoting IAHflyer97 (Reply 1):
In terms of carriers. I'm sure AA will lower CLT to about 400-500 daily departures.

What gives you this idea?

IAHflyer97

Sat Apr 04, 2015 9:08 pm