Moderators: jsumali2, richierich, ua900, PanAm_DC10, hOMSaR

MD95sOverATL
Topic Author

Wired: In-flight WiFi Vulnerable To Hackers

Wed Apr 15, 2015 3:22 pm

This is a story posted on Ars today, originally from Wired UK.

This sounds like a lot of fearmongering nonsense to me, but I'm not an aviation expert. Systems like GoGo are completely isolated from aircraft avionics and control surfaces, aren't they? There's no way that these systems "share the same wires", as the article states. (not to mention how is someone hacking the WiFi going to interrupt flight controls on something relatively non-electronic like an MD-80?)

My background is IT, and even in the most basic of networks, we airgap mission critical servers from the outside world. I assume aircraft is the same, right?

http://arstechnica.com/security/2015...t-wi-fi-is-direct-link-to-hackers/
EMB120, EMB145, CRJ200, MD88, MD90, 717, 737, 757, 777, A319, A321

motif1

RE: Wired: In-flight WiFi Vulnerable To Hackers

Wed Apr 15, 2015 6:34 pm

Quoting MD95sOverATL (Thread starter):
There's no way that these systems "share the same wires", as the article states.

i was shocked to read that they rely on firewalls and that the networks are not completely isolated. I also think that the news is relevant to modern aircraft - not an MD-80 with an added WIFI. Can't believe that's true!

M1
Not only is this incomprehensible but the ink is ugly and the paper is from the wrong kind of tree

Siren

Wed Apr 15, 2015 7:08 pm

Well, IF one of these WiFi installations were stupid enough to put their communications gear on the same internal Ethernet (that's what the planes are using these days!), then yes, there's potential for hacking - theoretically.