Moderators: jsumali2, richierich, ua900, PanAm_DC10, hOMSaR

j1960amme
Topic Author

B787 Now Unit Production Cash-positive?

Wed Mar 23, 2016 2:44 pm

All:

An article yesterday by Dhierin Bechai on SeekingAlpha claims that Boeing went cash-positive on the 787 production line as of 2015q4. His article is available at:

http://seekingalpha.com/author/dhierin-bechai/articles

The article seems credible on the face of it, but I'm no expert. Comments by those who are would be welcomed.

== Cordially, j1960

Planesmart

RE: B787 Now Unit Production Cash-positive?

Wed Mar 23, 2016 6:41 pm

Wouldn't get too excited on the strength of this report. There must be some -9 and a lot of -10 deferred costs still to be added.

Stitch

Wed Mar 23, 2016 6:56 pm

Quoting Planesmart (Reply 1):
Wouldn't get too excited on the strength of this report. There must be some -9 and a lot of -10 deferred costs still to be added.

I'm sure there is, but we're referring to production costs of each airframe, for which Boeing has generally been considered to have been losing money up until now.

So the deferred costs should now start to go down as the production profit per frame is applied to them.

Finn350

Wed Mar 23, 2016 7:33 pm

This was discussed earlier in a separate thread.

There is a difference between the program being cash positive and there being a profit on a production cost basis. The reason is that the program cash flow includes production profit or loss, inventory increase or decrease, and supplier advances increase or decrease. At the moment, inventory decrease and supplier advances decrease exceed production loss, so the program is cash positive although there is a production loss on each frame and deferred production cost is still increasing. Boeing expects later this year to turn profitable on production cost basis, too.

aklrno

Wed Mar 23, 2016 9:42 pm