Moderators: richierich, ua900, PanAm_DC10, hOMSaR

spinnern
Topic Author

Need help buying an airplane

Thu Sep 07, 2017 8:20 pm

Hi y'all. I am a student at Pilot Flight Academy in Sandefjord, Oslo, and i began to think about buying a plane after I have landed a job (no pun intended). I live near the sea, so I thought i should by a waterplane, as it would eliminate the need for storage. I began searching around on the internett and soon realized that the plane I want is the PBY Catalina. The problem is that they are quite few of them. So my question to y'all is, are there any planes that are similar to the PBY Catalina (shape and size)? Thanks for taking the time to write a answer.
Last edited by atcsundevil on Thu Sep 07, 2017 9:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Title edited for clarity

CrimsonNL

Re: Need help buying an airplane

Thu Sep 07, 2017 11:32 pm

spinnern wrote:
Hi y'all. I am a student at Pilot Flight Academy in Sandefjord, Oslo, and i began to think about buying a plane after I have landed a job (no pun intended). I live near the sea, so I thought i should by a waterplane, as it would eliminate the need for storage. I began searching around on the internett and soon realized that the plane I want is the PBY Catalina. The problem is that they are quite few of them. So my question to y'all is, are there any planes that are similar to the PBY Catalina (shape and size)? Thanks for taking the time to write a answer.

Honestly, starting with buying a Catalina as a new pilot seems a bit strange to me. You have to think bigger! I wouldn't settle for anything smaller then a Martin Mars, I'm sure you can get a good price on one too!

Martijn

spinnern
Topic Author

Fri Sep 08, 2017 8:19 am

Hi CrimsonNL. Thanks for replaying. After a quick search on the internett, I found out that there are only two remaining Martin Mars in the world left, which makes the planes extreamly expensive

Zombus

Fri Sep 08, 2017 12:10 pm