sonicruiser
Topic Author

Should Gulfstream make regional jets?

Fri Jul 19, 2019 6:36 am

Logically speaking, I think it would be a smart business decision. However, from a brand perspective, I could see why they would want to guard their name as the manufacturer of the most prestigious business jets by not jumping into the dumpster fire that is the regional jet market. Is this what keeps them from doing it or are they already doing well enough financially thanks to their (very) wealthy clients.

Pudelhund

Re: Should Gulfstream make regional jets?

Fri Jul 19, 2019 6:40 am

sonicruiser wrote:
Logically speaking, I think it would be a smart business decision.

Would it kill you to explain yourself in your own thread dude? This is low effort.

Armadillo1

Fri Jul 19, 2019 6:48 am

they must start from emb-123neo

Fly-K

Fri Jul 19, 2019 7:33 am

I'm not an aerospace engineer, but possibly the long-range, high cruise speed and high altitude Gulfstream business jets are not the ideal base for a lightweight regional jet. They would probably have to start from scratch.
On the other hand, Canadair did it with the Challenger.
Once you have tasted flight, you will forever walk the earth with your eyes turned skyward, for there you have been...

GalaxyFlyer

Fri Jul 19, 2019 12:54 pm

When Canadair bought the Lear design, they expanded the fuselage diameter to meet a FDX requirement for a small freighter, they were a big early buyer. This change made 2-2 seating possible. Gulfstream has no such advantage, it’d be a clean sheet design with no business case.

Gulfstream500

Fri Jul 19, 2019 1:25 pm