Aurantiaco
Topic Author

If you were to start an airline, what would be your business strategy/plan?

Sun Aug 25, 2019 8:58 pm

I didn’t really know where to put this, but since I figured this was opinion based, I put this here, so I apologize if this isn’t the right place to put it.

Let’s say you start an airline, and you can choose where it will be based and where it will fly, etc. What will be your model and strategy?
To be honest, I’m not good at economics, but I would think that you could just fly from secondary airports in major cities with some cheap planes, haha.

AAlaxfan

Re: If you were to start an airline, what would be your business strategy/plan?

Sun Aug 25, 2019 10:02 pm

To not lose money!
Grumpy. Not a dwarf, not an attitude. It's a lifestyle.

Aurantiaco
Topic Author

Sun Aug 25, 2019 10:43 pm

AAlaxfan wrote:
To not lose money!

Well, got what I was asking for. :lol:
But for real though, what would be a profitable strategy?

IPFreely

Mon Aug 26, 2019 12:09 am

Aurantiaco wrote:
But for real though, what would be a profitable strategy?

Simple 4-step plan.
1. Find a niche.
2. Show enough potential to become a takeover target.
3. Sell to the highest bidder.
4. Invest the proceeds into a more profitable (non-airline) business.

DFW17L

Mon Aug 26, 2019 12:23 am

May plan? Identify my most profitable and best customers, and focus on them.

PatrickZ80

Mon Aug 26, 2019 6:11 am

DFW17L wrote:

While that sounds logical, it doesn't always have to be the best plan.

The problem with the most profitable customers is that there are so little of them. That means you can never grow really big.

The market is like a pyramid, narrow at the top and wide at the bottom. You're chasing the top, where you make the most money per passenger. However since that top is really narrow, the only growth you have is down.