Moderators: richierich, ua900, PanAm_DC10, hOMSaR

Mike89406
Topic Author

Delta Non-Rev Travel Questions

Thu Aug 06, 2015 11:24 pm

I've been working for DGS/DAL Aviation about 3 months and want to use my flight privileges in the next week for my spouse and 15 year old daughter. Since I'm a newb to the industry I have some lingering questions and perhaps any CSA's or ticket agents etc...can answer some of them for me.

That said I won't be traveling with my spouse and daughter. I realize the important etiquette in non-rev and realize it's standby and not guaranteed.

1. They want to fly to fly from SAN-LAX & LAX-SYD. What are the best day(s) of the the week for non-rev travel and time of day to catch a standby flight? And what are the loads like on the LAX-SYD vice verse?

2. What airports/hubs offer the best/worst chance to fly standby?( ie... LAX, SLC, DTW, MSP, JFK etc...) in the event we want to travel to Europe? For example: i was told SLC typically treats non-rev's as S4 priority.

3. If i plan fly to Europe what are my best chances of success? (ie... LHR, CDG, DUB, FCO, AMS etc....)

4. I understand travel cost is free on my benefits, however you may have to pay an entry fee for countries abroad of the USA. Is there a way I can find out different fees my family will need to pay when going to Australia or other countries?

Any suggestions, routing tips would be welcome.

Best regards,

Mike

Mike89406
Topic Author

RE: Delta Non-Rev Travel Questions

Fri Aug 07, 2015 2:17 pm

i was curious when trying to booking my family on Delta Travelnet it says no charge, however I thought they may have to pay Int'l Taxes and fees in some countries.

gocaps16

Fri Aug 07, 2015 10:14 pm