lizardboy1
Topic Author

Questions from a fiction writer

Fri Sep 02, 2016 4:40 pm

Hi there,
I'm a UK-based fiction writer, who has been toying with some ideas for a while, and wanted to ask some questions regarding aircraft operations around Heathrow (London).

A regular flight-path in to LHR has planes stacked over NE London, and then come in over NW London, near Wembley Stadium, over Hampstead Heath, and then down to the (financial) City, where the planes take a right, generally over London Bridge, and fly along the Thames, over RIchmond and into LHR.

My first question is whether anyone knows the altitude these planes are at as they make that turn and then the straight run over London to LHR?

Secondly, I understand that aircraft are generally flown by the autopilot, with the main exceptions being the take-off and landing. On the LHR approach, I assume the pilots are running everything manually for that final approach. What sort of safety systems are there should some sort of catastrophic failure occur? is there a procedure for an aircraft having an emergency over a major city?

Many thanks to any who can shed light on these and any other useful details connected.

flyDTW1992

Re: Questions from a fiction writer

Fri Sep 02, 2016 7:55 pm

A quick glance at Flightradar24 indicates that the arrival procedure puts aircraft at roughly 5,000 feet, give or take 1,000, making the turn over central London.

As far as emergency procedures, any aircraft will have the capability and procedures in place to make the airport in the event of an engine failure, and there is a manual full of procedures for various system failures. Generally there's no specific set of procedures when over a major city, with any sort of catastrophic failure, the focus remains on landing at the nearest suitable airport no matter what the location.
Now you're flying smart

Starlionblue

Sat Sep 03, 2016 1:15 am

lizardboy1 wrote: