iffy
Topic Author

question regarding speed at altitude

Mon Nov 14, 2016 9:56 pm

Hello forum users,

This is my first post on this forum and hope to post more often, I'm not a Pilot, crew member or even involved in the Aviation industry at all what so ever - I'm merely a person whom is interested in the engineering, technology and operation of an aircraft. So please excuse any silly questions I ask as I have ZERO knowledge in this field.

The first question of many I want to ask is - are aircraft jets close to max jet rotation/propeller rotation/Jet speed at high altitude (30k feet plus) to achieve the cruising speed of 500 miles plus? I've always thought that the jets will only be at around 50% power as the air is thinner at higher altitude which equals less friction etc?

OzzyPirate

Re: question regarding speed at altitude

Mon Nov 14, 2016 11:57 pm

What you say in your last sentence would be true if jet engines produced uniform thrust from sea level to cruise. In reality, altitude is a double-edged sword - the air is a lot thinner and thus higher True Airspeeds (and therefore groundspeeds) are attainable, but jet engines have significantly less available thrust at altitude.

So it's quite common for jets to be at the same engine RPM in the cruise as they are at takeoff, except they'll be producing significantly less thrust in significantly thinner air, thankfully at significantly lower fuel burn.

To give you an idea how little excess thrust is available up high, if we're near maximum altitude and a wind change drops our indicated airspeed by 10 knots, it may take over a minute at maximum continuous thrust to recover those 10 knots.

skyhawkmatthew

Tue Nov 15, 2016 12:53 am

The short answer is yes.

In the cruise the engines are normally sitting around 85% of maximum RPM, but as OzzyPirate said, burning significantly less fuel and producing significantly less thrust than at sea level.