Moderators: richierich, ua900, hOMSaR

jgilbert20
Topic Author

Details on a 747-200 CDU (retro!)

Sun Jun 11, 2017 11:38 pm

I am a retro-computing hobbyist and I recently acquired a "Control Display Unit" following from ebay. This was taken from a now-retired NW aircraft.

I've managed to get the unit's LED display up and running with some careful electronics hacking. I can now make it display whatever I want and also detect which key presses are made. I faked the following 4 lines of text using a freescale ARM processor and some of the transistors I salvaged from the part itself.

I'd really like to set it up as a demo to show aviation enthusiasts what the actual device would look like and do.

Can anyone point me at photos of the device operational or some pointers on what it actually did, and how to use it? I would love to find a manual and recreate a few of the functions to serve as some inspiration for others.

The plane it was originally from:

https://www.planespotters.net/airframe/Boeing/747/22389/N628US-Northwest-Airlines

This is a control display unit (CDU) used on Boeing 747 aircraft and possibly other types as well. This one has a parts tag showing removal from N628US on 5/23/08 during upgrade or tear down has been in storage since. It is in good condition without damage to the housing or connectors. The display is not cracked BUT has some delamination on bottom edge and all controls are in place. The data plate reads CONTROL DISPLAY UNIT, PART NO. 160080000-021, POWER 115V 400 HZ 0.8A, 5V 400 HZ 1.5A, CUST. NO. 60B40150, DELCO ELECTRONICS, FAA PMA 747 SERIES. It is not tagged and I have no way to test it so it is being listed AS IS. Thank you for looking and please see our many other aviation auctions.

RetiredWeasel

Re: Details on a 747-200 CDU (retro!)

Mon Jun 12, 2017 4:14 am