SEPilot
Topic Author

Future engine improvements

Sat Feb 09, 2019 4:27 pm

There seems to be an assumption on this forum that engine efficiency will continue to be improved indefinitely, and that we can just assume that in 10 years we will have engines available that are 10% more efficient than the ones available today. However, as an engineer I know that there are absolute limits to efficiency, and I know from experience that the closer you get to those limits the harder it is to get more improvement. On top of that, ALL of the engine manufacturers, with RR seeming to lead the pack, are having various degrees of difficulty meeting delivery and/or performance and reliability commitments. So my question is are we approaching a plateau where engine improvements are going to be much less dramatic than we have experienced over the last 20 years or so? There was a long period, from around 1980 to about 2000 when engines changed very little, if any, and then suddenly we got on this march of seemingly continual improvements. We now are at the point where the GE90-110/115, which was only introduced in 2004 and was a marvel of efficiency and reliability, is already obsolete and is being replaced. How long before its replacement is obsolete? So what do you think; is there still a lot of room for improved efficiency or are we approaching the limits?
The problem with making things foolproof is that fools are so doggone ingenious...Dan Keebler

WIederling

Re: Future engine improvements

Sat Feb 09, 2019 4:46 pm

https://www.hq.nasa.gov/office/aero/eve ... soaeng.pdf p1
( not reaching into the present, but the first easy find of sfc vs date )

You saw the step changes leveraged by fundamental changes in engine design.
turbojet -> turbojet with lowish bp -> turbofan -> ( GTF?)
( and there is a melee' of new engines around 1980+-3 )
all other improvements are incremental gains on details. Basic setup doesn't change.