Pluto707
Topic Author

Cloud based black boxes

Mon Mar 11, 2019 4:56 pm

A question that stays in my mind for years already: for sure now with the recent ETH crash... why not upload FDR data to a cloud based database via satellite ? They already use this kind of technology: CPDLC - Acars - constructors dump their engine data on regular time base, via satellite to their systems... In the past 5 years, i think approx 10 to 20 blackboxes had to be searched and recovered somewhere in the world, even at the bottom of oceans; these searches each time, cost from hundred thousands to millions of dollars ( for ex MH370). I have some knowledge about satellite communications and in my opinion, a system where each civil acft dumps these kind of data via satellite to databases (techn that engine constructors already use these days) cannot be that expensive. For ex: all data is sent 100% during take-off and landing phase, and in mid-flight the systems dump datafiles each 10 mins. Acft constructors are not waiting for systems like these, i can imagine. But the actual FDR systems did not change in 50 years, the magnetic tapes were replaced by memory chips, OK, but in ages where a civilian can track and trace his iphone all over the world, in seconds, out of billions of iphones, and... the sophisticated airlines industry stays stuck on FDR systems from the WWII period ??

747Whale

Re: Cloud based black boxes

Mon Mar 11, 2019 5:45 pm

Flight Data Recorders were not used during the second world war.

ACARS is very limited.