pilotaaron09
Topic Author

Should I fly Cargo or Passenger?

Wed Mar 13, 2019 6:22 pm

I’m a student pilot and I am going to go through the Envoy pipeline and the plane was the move over to American when that time comes. That sounds great, as my grandfather flew for American and I’ve always flown American. I live in Dallas, Tx where the American HQ is and the main hub DFW airport.

I have just always wondered if it’s better to fly for a cargo airline or passenger. I’m asking to help make a decision on what route I’d want to go in the future. Pros, Cons, etc..

I know mostly how passenger goes, hubs, Per diem, stand by flight and such. But I don’t know how it works with Cargo. I’ve looked at the UPD and FedEx domiciles, and none of them are DFW. But UPS has a DFW hub and FedEx has one at Alliance airport not too far away from there. Are you able to live here and fly out of there or do you have to start and end at their main domiciles? Also any other info would be appreciated. Also, If I choose Cargo, I’m not limiting myself to FedEx or UPS, but i would want it to be a well known company (UPS, FedEx, CargoLux, Cathay Pacific, etc...)

Thanks guys!

adamblang

Re: Should I fly Cargo or Passenger?

Wed Mar 13, 2019 6:27 pm

Realistically, you should fly whoever hires you.
146 319 320 321 332 333 343 717 734 735 73G 738 739 744 752 753 763 764 772 773 789 AR1 AT4 CNA CR2 CR7 DC9 ER3 ERD ER4 E70 E75 E90

dumbell2424

Wed Mar 13, 2019 6:40 pm

You'd be able to commute on a wide variety of airlines, but living in base is so much nicer/better QOL

WPvsMW

Wed Mar 13, 2019 7:00 pm

pilotaaron09 wrote:
I have just always wondered if it’s better to fly for a cargo airline or passenger.

Welcome to a.nut.
Do you prefer a diurnal or nocturnal existence?

pilotaaron09
Topic Author

Wed Mar 13, 2019 7:02 pm

dumbell2424 wrote:
You'd be able to commute on a wide variety of airlines, but living in base is so much nicer/better QOL