dehagunay
Topic Author

Turbofan Engine

Sat Feb 01, 2020 3:55 pm

Hello all. I am new here as i am new in aviation. I am studying aircraft and space engineering and this is my first year. I have homework about turbofan engines. I guess you can help me about it.
How it works ? Where we use them and why ? Thank you..

SAAFNAV

Re: Turbofan Engine

Sat Feb 01, 2020 4:44 pm

As an engineer, a big part of your job would be sit and think and come up with a solution to a problem. Not ask people to do your homework.

If you got into aircraft and space engineering without ever reading about how a basic jet engine or rocket works, I'm not too sure about the caliber of either the university or the selection committee.

Should you have specific questions, people on here would be more than willing to assist, but no one here is going to do your homework.

Consider this a favour, even though I shouldn't have started the spoonfeeding program:

https://science.howstuffworks.com/trans ... urbine.htm
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Turbofan

As to where it is used? Have at look at the URL of this site.
L-382 Loadmaster; ex C-130B Navigator

Francoflier

Sun Feb 02, 2020 5:40 am

I think SAAFNAV answered about as honestly and tactfully as anyone...

Now I suggest locking the thread.
I'll do my own airline. With Blackjack. And hookers. In fact, forget the airline.

BravoOne

Sun Feb 02, 2020 6:23 pm

If you just want a quick reference to go from, think along these basic concepts. Suck, Squeeze, Bang and Blow. Everything else is just fluff.

bhill

Tue Feb 04, 2020 7:08 pm

BravoOne wrote:
If you just want a quick reference to go from, think along these basic concepts. Suck, Squeeze, Bang and Blow. Everything else is just fluff.

...Ahhhh...phrasing.....
Carpe Pices

WIederling

Thu Feb 06, 2020 9:07 am

bhill wrote:
BravoOne wrote:

...Ahhhh...phrasing.....

it is "whoooosh" not "Bang" :-)))))))))

jet engines use the energy add via "constant pressure" Brayton cycle.