Moderators: richierich, ua900, hOMSaR

abcgogo
Topic Author

Why do aviation safety agencies overlook obvious safety deficiencies ?

Wed Mar 18, 2020 7:04 am

Hello everyone, I have been a long time lurker but decided to register on airliners.net now. I am not an insider of the aviation industry but am an extremely curious aviation-enthusiast (avgeek). Apologies if I make any mistakes/misunderstandings in any of my post, because I am a noob/average on technical matters. With that said, let me start with the topic at hand.

I have noticed the following shortfalls in aviation safety and wondered why have the various aviation authorities/safety-agencies overlooked them and allowed the manufacturers to get away with them. The list are as follows:--
------------------------------

1) Lack of fuel-dumping systems on small aircraft, especially the business-jets and even on the RJs and narrowbody airliners like A320-family and 737-family. Even the latest long-range large business-jets like Gulfstream's G650ER, G700 and Bombardier's Global-7500 lack this safety feature. Check out this video, where the pilot of a fully loaded Global-6000 tells the ATC that he needs to burn fuel for 5 hours just to reach Maximum-Landing-Weight (MLW).
https://youtu.be/_2YsabrDEug?t=250

Is it possible to land safely with 99% or even 80% fuel load (even if it may lead to requiring lots of intensive maintenance after landing) ? I was under the impression that the maximum safest landing can be done only when the aircraft is just above Maximum-Landing-Weight (MLW), say 20% above MLW....otherwise, it would lead to a crash landing where the landing gear would collapse (unable to handle the weight) and the heavily loaded full tanks in the wings would burst open causing a fireball explosion that could severely-injure/kill everybody on board.....something like the DC-10 crash at Sioux-City.

https://youtu.be/b6JW4NuI5GM?t=2620