Moderators: richierich, ua900, hOMSaR

curiousdodo
Topic Author

What happens to the retired aircraft?

Sun May 10, 2020 4:54 am

Hi airliners.net, I'm a university student working on a deep-dive of the aviation industry for a club project. I'm specifically looking at the airplane recycling business, and how COVID might impact it.

I generally understand that retired airplanes are either converted to freighters or scrapped for parts. What companies are heavily involved in conversion? What companies are involved in scrapping and redistribution of salvage parts? Do they sell to MROs or airlines or back to the manufacturers?

In addition, what becomes of the engines? I know they're often owned by the manufacturers, but now that these engines are mostly obsolete, what will become of them.

In addition, does anybody have an idea of what companies all the retired American, Delta, and United planes might be headed? Especially the 757s and the 767s?

shamrock137

Re: What happens to the retired aircraft?

Sun May 10, 2020 4:39 pm

curiousdodo wrote:
Hi airliners.net, I'm a university student working on a deep-dive of the aviation industry for a club project. I'm specifically looking at the airplane recycling business, and how COVID might impact it.

I generally understand that retired airplanes are either converted to freighters or scrapped for parts. What companies are heavily involved in conversion? What companies are involved in scrapping and redistribution of salvage parts? Do they sell to MROs or airlines or back to the manufacturers?

In addition, what becomes of the engines? I know they're often owned by the manufacturers, but now that these engines are mostly obsolete, what will become of them.

In addition, does anybody have an idea of what companies all the retired American, Delta, and United planes might be headed? Especially the 757s and the 767s?

Welcome! Good questions, unfortunately they are all really a big "it depends" for the answer.