Moderators: richierich, ua900, PanAm_DC10, hOMSaR

Arturrtyy
Topic Author

Ferry pilot carrier

Sat Nov 07, 2020 2:31 pm

Can a ferry pilot (by profession), if he is ferrying piston planes and has experience in ferrying and flying on piston planes weighing up to 5700 kg, start ferrying large planes and jet jets? If I get a rating like B737 or Cessna CJ, can I start ferrying these types as a ferry pilot if I am only a ferry driver at all? I work as a ferry pilot by profession. I have no experience flying large and jet planes. I will not go to the airline. And what experience and flight time do you need to have to start ferrying large planes and jet jets? Where to get this experience and plaque on the types? Please do not delete.

GalaxyFlyer

Re: Ferry pilot carrier

Sat Nov 07, 2020 3:45 pm

Does your CAA issue ferry pilot ratings? FAA world, if you’re rated in the plane, you can fly it anywhere, no ferry pilot rating.

Woodreau

Sat Nov 07, 2020 3:59 pm

In the US as long as you are type rated in the aircraft you can fly it. Even as a private pilot. (John travolta with is 707 type rating on his pilot certificate)

You’ll need a minimum of a commercial pilot certificate with the type rating to fly the 737 or CJ as all turbojet aircraft require a type rating and you’re doing it for compensation.

As to how much experience you need..... The limiting factor is not the FAA but the insurance companies who determine how much experience they are willing to insure.

There are some jets like the CJ are single pilot types so you can fly it alone

A 737 requires two pilots so you’ll only get to fly it if there is another type rated pilot going with you and you get to Duke it out over who gets to be pic.