Moderators: richierich, ua900, PanAm_DC10, hOMSaR

TheSonntag
Topic Author

VFR with Airliners

Tue Jan 05, 2021 10:44 am

I am a PPL student, and all I will ever fly as a hobby is VFR. I saw some documentation that Lufthansa was landing at uncontrolled airports in the netherlands to park some 747. The flight itself was seemingly IFR, but the final stages were VFR.

I would like to know from the "experts":

1. Is it actually very common to fly VFR with airliners? Do you train this in the sim, or is it just IFR only during daily operations?

2. How is a patter flown with large airliners? Obviously, speeds and turing rates are higher, so I suspect it is not possible to fly the same pattern as I do in my C172.

3. During flight planning, do you always know whether you are in Delta or Echo airspace when flying IFR? In Germany, I live close to EDLW and unlike most of the larger areas, it is actually not uncommon that planes fly in Echo when approaching Dortmund.

zeke

Re: VFR with Airliners

Tue Jan 05, 2021 11:15 am

TheSonntag wrote:
1. Is it actually very common to fly VFR with airliners? Do you train this in the sim, or is it just IFR only during daily operations?

No its not common however does happen. I suspect however that LH was IFR al the way, VRF/IFR are rules which the aircraft is operated, VMC/IMC are the environmental conditions they are flown in. One can fly IFR rules in VMC conditions. You can even fly IFR into an uncontrolled airport.

TheSonntag wrote:
2. How is a patter flown with large airliners? Obviously, speeds and turing rates are higher, so I suspect it is not possible to fly the same pattern as I do in my C172.

The turn radius us a function of angle of bank and speed, a light twin or high performance single flying a 25 degree angle of bank turn at 150 knots has the same turn radius as a 747 at 150 kts with 25 degrees angle of bank.