Moderators: richierich, ua900, PanAm_DC10, hOMSaR

studentpilot009
Topic Author

Driving record impact on pilot background check

Fri Apr 16, 2021 3:33 am

Hello Aviators,

I am currently a student pilot preparing to start CPL training. I am in my early 20's and have a bachelors degree in business management. I came across multiple articles while researching pilot hiring that, having a less than perfect driving record is damaging to your career. I wanted to ask if any one can give more insight on this.

My violations:

1. Speeding ticket in 2016 .....
2. speeding ticket in 2019 (73 mph in a 65 zone)
3. Suspension 2019 (was lifted same day and was placed due to miscommunication between court and dmv)

Nothing else on the background.

Thank You!

VSMUT

Re: Driving record impact on pilot background check

Fri Apr 16, 2021 6:47 am

This is an international site. Rules vary from one place to the next. What country are we talking here?

I don't believe it is a factor in most of Europe and I know several pilots who received speeding fines without any impact to their careers. There are however unverified stories where the authorities conspired to prevent you from flying anyway. Mostly related to drunk driving and having your medical refused.

Web500sjc

Fri Apr 16, 2021 4:28 pm

studentpilot009 wrote:
Hello Aviators,

I am currently a student pilot preparing to start CPL training. I am in my early 20's and have a bachelors degree in business management. I came across multiple articles while researching pilot hiring that, having a less than perfect driving record is damaging to your career. I wanted to ask if any one can give more insight on this.

My violations:

3. Suspension 2019 (was lifted same day and was placed due to miscommunication between court and dmv)

Thank You!

Traffic infractions are not a deal breaker as far as pilot hiring.