Moderators: richierich, ua900, PanAm_DC10, hOMSaR

LoganTheBogan
Topic Author

Q400 Cargo Hold Compartments

Wed Jun 30, 2021 11:59 am

G'day folks,

I'm a ramp agent for a contractor that performs duties for Rex Saab 340s and QantasLink Dash 8's and absolutely love it.

On the Q400s, QLink has the aft hold sectioned off into compartment 41 and 42 using netting. At the front of the aircraft is hold 11, which is not allowed to be used without special permission from load control and only if absolutely necessary. However, I've seen Q400s operating in different countries without netting in the aft hold and just operating as a singular compartment. How does this affect the performance of the aircraft/loading method? At QLink, we have to follow strict load control plans that involve putting certain bags in either 41 or 42. On the 300s we have compartment 43 as well.

At times we'll have 3 bags in compartment 42 and 57 in 41 or vice versa. Sometimes everything is put in the one compartment.

This is just a random observation. I understand each part of the world and each airline has its own operating requirements but if anyone could pitch in it would certainly answer a long time question!

m1m2

Re: Q400 Cargo Hold Compartments

Sat Jul 10, 2021 2:43 am

According to my Q400 maintenance training manuals, the lower (FWD) floor has a load rating of 125lbs/sq.ft., or a total of 3500 lbs while the upper (AFT) floor has a load rating of 75 lbs/sq.ft., for a total of 1000 lbs in that section. However, it does say that the max for the entire compartment is 3500 lbs, so, in theory it could all be loaded in the FWD section of the cargo.