Moderators: richierich, ua900, PanAm_DC10, hOMSaR

math341c
Topic Author

Why is Jet fuel not more popular on SE aicrafts?

Tue Nov 09, 2021 4:52 pm

Hello guys, my Name is Math and I am a student pilot, some weeks ago I started my first IFR flight lessons, where I flew for the first time the Diamond DA-40 TDI, which runs on Jet-A fuel, however the aircraft I flew my VFR hours on, was a Diamond DA-20 that used normal AVGAS fuel.

I was wondering, why is JET-A fuel not a standard fuel type used also for Piston Aircrafts? There are so many benefits with JET-A compared to AVGAS, and much cheaper, here is a list of benefits in my theory books, I found so far.

o An injection engine, intake system does not need icing protection.
o No throttle valves.
o No mixture control.
o Less flammable than petrol.
o Thermal efficiency is higher than petrol engine because compression ratio is higher than a petrol engine.

There are many benefits with the Diesel Engine and it's safer, and it generally just feels better flying the aircraft with Diesel, I feel the engine is more smooth and easier to start. What is the reason why JET-A fuel is not so popular on piston engines, I am really wondering about it? Here in my country converted to us dollars. One liter of JET-A fuel costs about 1 dollar per liter and AVGAS cost almost 3.1 dollars per liter.

Best Regards
Math
Last edited by SQ22 on Tue Nov 09, 2021 5:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Typo fixed

GalaxyFlyer

Re: Why is Jet fuel not more popular on SE aicrafts?

Tue Nov 09, 2021 6:51 pm

Money, the new planes are very expensive

N1120A

Tue Nov 09, 2021 9:11 pm

Diesel engines for light aircraft are a rather new technology - less than 20 years old. There is a massive fleet of a avgas reciprocating aircraft out there, meaning the infrastructure is there as well and the cost of acquisition is much, much lower.

Also, the largest markets for light pistons - the US and Canada - do not have the same price difference.

LH707330