Moderators: richierich, ua900, PanAm_DC10, hOMSaR

hitower3
Topic Author

Augmented crew - logging flight hours

Mon Apr 18, 2022 6:51 am

Dear all,

Just a short, stupid question: How are flight hours logged for pilots in an augmented crew setting?

Let's assume a 12h flight with a crew of 3 (CA, FO, Cruise pilot). Would all 3 get the full 12h flight time credited to their logbook, or only these hours they are actually on duty?

Thanks!
Hendric

Starlionblue

Re: Augmented crew - logging flight hours

Mon Apr 18, 2022 7:56 am

It very much depends on the regulating authority.

In my case, I'd get time in seat when pilot flying (P1 under supervision time) or pilot monitoring (P2 time). However, the captain can log the full flight.

When I was a cruise pilot, I logged time the seat as P2 but with a sort of asterisk denoting cruise relief time.

SaveFerris

Mon Apr 18, 2022 6:05 pm

Agreed with the above post, it very much depends on the regulator. That having been said I never have been able to find clear FAA guidance on how to “properly” log time with an augmented crew.

My personal take on logging the time is that at the end of the day your logbooks are there to prove your flight time and adherence to all applicable flight time limits. Because of this I would log the entire flight time as Total Time as that was the best indicator of remaining within the flight time limitations.

I was much more conservative with logging PIC time however. I only logged PIC if I was the only captain or designated as such at the beginning of the flight. If I don’t fall into either of those categories everything was logged as SIC.

For what it’s worth I got asked this same question on an interview and gave the above answer and that seemed to satisfy the interviewers as I got the job. :bigthumbsup:

e38

Tue Apr 26, 2022 7:46 pm

hitower3 wrote:
Would all 3 get the full 12h flight time credited to their logbook?