Moderators: richierich, ua900, PanAm_DC10, hOMSaR

KAUSpilot
Topic Author

Landing Gear Fairings On Fixed Gear A/C

Thu Jan 31, 2002 11:23 am

Hello!

I'm a student pilot and at the airport (Austin-Bergstrom International, Austin Texas), I notice that some of the aircraft with fixed landing gear have landing gear fairings, while most don't. I think the fairings make the planes look a lot cleaner and easier on the eye, but I have some technical questions about them.

My questions are:

1) Is the reduction in parasite drag that the fairings provide worth their added cost?
2) How much was cessna and piper charging for these back in the 70's and 80's?
3) Do gear fairings now come standard on new cessna's and pipers from the factory?
4) What are the fairings made out of, and how much weight do they typiccal add to the a/c?
5) Is the drag for weight tradeoff really worth it in the end?
6) Are the fairings easily damaged on takeoff and landing?

Any response is greatly appreciated!

Pappy

RE: Landing Gear Fairings On Fixed Gear A/C

Thu Jan 31, 2002 12:01 pm

Well, they do help allot with the drag factor and they don't add much weight to the aircraft. A pilot friend said that he was making a soft field landing on a grass strip and after he pulled off an old timer came up to him and told him he left part of his aircraft on the runway (fairings) Big grin

I LOVE EWR

Thu Jan 31, 2002 12:20 pm

Usually for planes that are used in instruction the fairings are taken off. This is to prevent damage that a young pilot may cause on the fairings in the event of a hard landing. On the Piper Warrior the fairings add about 5 mph when on give or take a few mphs. I believe they are expensive but not sure of the price. Hope this helps

flyf15

Thu Jan 31, 2002 1:16 pm

I believe Cessna publishes a 2kt increase in speed with fairings attached. Aren't the new ones fiberglass? I do believe they come standard on the new Cessnas.

Thu Jan 31, 2002 1:24 pm