Moderators: richierich, ua900, PanAm_DC10, hOMSaR

A330Fan
Topic Author

Boeing/Airbus FMCs

Wed Aug 31, 2005 9:39 am

Hey, kind of "out there" but here goes:

Would anyone have any information about the software programming and design that goes into the FMC for Boeing and/or Airbus aircraft?

Is the FMC designed by the company and do they program the FMCs themselves with their own teams of software engineers or do they contract software engineers from the outside for this purpose?

Any other random info such as, programming language or any sort of information would be appreciated!!

As we all know the programming code within the FMCs must be extremely well written as the FMCs are a "mission critical" device and any bugs within the software could be detrimental to the aircraft's safety (while using the FMC).

The reason why I am asking this is the fact that I am a computer science student and an aviation enthusiast so this is something that really interests me and from being on this site, it seems that chances are, someone might have some info!!

Thanks in advance,
Patrick.

zeke

RE: Boeing/Airbus FMCs

Wed Aug 31, 2005 11:21 am

Patrick,

Boeing and Airbus do not make FMC's, they are produced by third parties, popular ones are from Honeywell and Smiths.

Airlines do not vary the software in the FMC, they do however get specific databases for their area of operations (the database has the runways, airports, nav aids etc).

The databases are supplied by approved third parties, such as Lido or Jeppesen, the airline cannot vary the database, that needs to be done by an approved controlled source.

FMCs are very low powered computers, some of them have maximum database capacities of 256 kb, the technology in them is very outdated.

Woodreau

Wed Aug 31, 2005 10:05 pm

Here's a link to the FMS page at Honeywell, who makes the FMC for Boeings and A330/A340/A380 and is trying to market itself to upgrade the older Airbuses.