Moderators: richierich, ua900, hOMSaR

kmh1956
Topic Author

Swept-wing Passenger Aircraft..possible?

Mon Nov 05, 2007 2:55 pm

Ok, gang, don't laugh at me for what seems to me to be a perfectly reasonable question....I'm no aircraft expert by any means (I CAN tell the difference between a 737 and a 747!!) but I was wondering...how practical or possible would it be for a passenger aircraft to be built with sweep-wing technology? (A la the F-14) Would it help to increase speed, reduce flight times etc?

Reasonable replies only, if you don't mind.
'Somebody tell me why I'm on my own if there's a soulmate for everyone' :Natasha Bedingfield

mirrodie

RE: Swept-wing Passenger Aircraft..possible?

Mon Nov 05, 2007 3:04 pm

Search for the Boeing 2707.

IIRC that was sweep wing technology. Unfortunately, like today, fuel was a huge issue and thus speed was killed off in exchange for efficiency.
Forum moderator 2001-2010; He's a pedantic, pontificating, pretentious bastard, a belligerent old fart, a worthless st

kmh1956
Topic Author

Mon Nov 05, 2007 3:10 pm

So, if I am to read between the lines of your response, sweep-wing technology uses much more fuel than fixed wing? The Boeing 2707 looked to be more of a delta wing than a sweep wing.....ok, never mind...just saw another article which descibes the possible sweep technology of the 2707 and possible stats: (from unrealaircraft.com) That puppy was going to be huge!!
POWERPLANT:
Four General Electric GE4/J5P turbojets,
each of 63,200 lb. st (28677 kgp) each,
with augmentation.

EMPTY OPERATING WEIGHT
(International model):
287,500 lb (130308 kg)

MAX. RAMP WEIGHT:
675,000 lb (306175 kg)

MAX. LANDING WEIGHT:
430,000 lb (195045 kg)

MAX. PAYLOAD:
75,000 lb (34020 kg)

NORMAL CRUISING SPEED:
Mach 2.7 1,800 mph (2900 km/h)
at 64,000 ft / 21000m

RANGE:
4,250 mls (6840 km)
with 277 passengers TAKEOFF LENGTH:
5,700 ft (1870 m)

LANDING LENGTH:
6,500 ft (2133 m)

SPAN:
180 ft 4 in (54.97 m) spread,
105 ft 9 in (32.23 m) swept.