Moderators: richierich, ua900, PanAm_DC10, hOMSaR

BlueSkys
Topic Author

Pilots Perspective. Boeing & Airbus

Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:01 pm

An interesting article debating the different control systems of Airbus & Boeing. The advantages & disadvantages.

http://seattlepi.nwsource.com/business/boe202.shtml

MCOflyer

RE: Pilots Perspective. Boeing & Airbus

Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:12 pm

If I was a pilot, I would take a Boeing as I would have full control instead of 75% control on the Airbus. I'd like to know how the Airbus would have reacted to the BA near miss by Indonesia with Captain Moody.

Hunter
Never be afraid to stand up for who you are.

SEPilot

Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:23 pm

As a private pilot, I like the Boeing philosophy better, although I have never (and probably never will) flown a jetliner. But the bottom line is the safety record, and both philosophies appear to be delivering that unbelievably well.
The problem with making things foolproof is that fools are so doggone ingenious...Dan Keebler

jamesbuk

Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:24 pm

Quoting MCOflyer (Reply 1):
BA near miss by Indonesia with Captain Moody.

Wasn't that the engine out because of volcanic dust?

What would that have to do with the airbus control systems?  Confused

75% control on the Airbus.

Pilots have full control within a certain envelope on the airbus - if they could go through that, it would endanger the aircraft - it doesn't limit the pilot in normal operating procedure also if i remember from a previous thread, the 777 has similar on board systems as most airbus aircraft now.

Just seems theres some sort of stereotype that airbus are unsafe because they have protection whilst Boeing apparently have no protection which makes it safer... apparently. Which really is bull crap.

If I was a commercial pilot - I would have no problem in flying either airbus (or airbii  wink  ) or Boeing.

Rgds --James--
You cant have your cake and eat it... What the hells the point in having it then!!!

BlueSkys