Moderators: richierich, ua900, PanAm_DC10, hOMSaR

dymondjack
Topic Author

Where Do Pilots Get Their Weather?

Thu May 07, 2009 6:16 pm

I'm a student pilot and curious as to where experienced pilots get their weather reports from. I've always used wunderground (and still do), and have found a number of 'aviation' related weather forecasting services, but am still left feeling a bit unsatisfied.

Is there a definitive source for weather information regarding aviation?

This would be related to GA in North America, if it makes a difference...

Thanks for any insight. Probably I already have seen it, but knowing what other pilots rely on would make me feel much better about it myself (and quite frankly, there's LOTS out there... I'm beginning to think some pilots might be better meteorologists than meteorologists are).

[Edited 2009-05-07 11:17:16]

spudsmac

RE: Where Do Pilots Get Their Weather?

Thu May 07, 2009 6:26 pm

I use several different websites. I only have 150 hours or so and am almost finished with commercial but I have kinda settled on where to get WX from.

Local flights: http://fltwx.db.erau.edu/textquery.php (quick and lots of info in a neat, organized format)
XCountry: http://aviationweather.gov for planning route, weather.com for temp when I want to fly combined with Winds Aloft, 1-800-WX-BRIEF for weather right before I go preflight.
When I get lazy: DUATS.com

[Edited 2009-05-07 11:27:30]

[Edited 2009-05-07 11:28:01]

Goldenshield

Thu May 07, 2009 6:31 pm

In your case, for GA, the definative source for aviation weather is your nearest FAA FSS. They are specifically there to assist GA pilots in pre-flight weather briefing and planning. Anything else outside DUATS, and an FSS, or any other FAA approved weather source is ADVISORY ONLY.

Of course, you state that you are a student, so I suggest you follow your CFI's lesson plans before jumping ahead in the game. Otherwise, you could end up making things confusing and complicated.

spudsmac