Moderators: richierich, ua900, PanAm_DC10, hOMSaR

jhooper
Topic Author

Getting ATP As A Miliary Pilot

Mon Mar 01, 2010 7:13 am

61.39(b)(2) allows one to use an expired ATP written test report to take the practical test for the ATP, provided you are a military pilot who completed the PIC qualification program in an aircraft appropriate to the rating sought.

I ask because I currently hold expired written test results. While I'm studying to take it again, I want to avoid doing so if I legally can. So, having complied with 61.39(b)(2) in the C-5, how would I use the expired test to get the ATP? Would I go to some place like ATP and take the practical? ..and would the DPE accept my test result? I don't guess there's a way to just get it done in the C-5 (or sim), is there?
Last year 1,944 New Yorkers saw something and said something.

lowrider

RE: Getting ATP As A Miliary Pilot

Mon Mar 01, 2010 4:02 pm

You can do your ATP in the C5 sim, so long as you have a Fed or a DPE in there. Otherwise, a letter from a representative in your unit stating that you are a pilot and have been continuously from some date prior to your ATP written test expiring will suffice for most DPEs.
Proud OOTSK member

dispatchguy

Tue Mar 02, 2010 9:44 am

Quoting lowrider (Reply 1):
Fed or a DPE in there

Would the Fed/DPE need to be qual/current in the C5?
Nobody screws you better than an airline job!

UH60FtRucker

Tue Mar 02, 2010 2:06 pm

Quoting dispatchguy (Reply 2):
Would the Fed/DPE need to be qual/current in the C5?

Yes. And legally you are not suppose to use government equipment for your own personal gain (ie: getting a specific rating). The way many military pilots get their civilian counterpart licenses, is by rolling them into the same training/schooling that they are already getting for military purposes. ...But to go and reserve SIM time specifically for you to take a civilian exam is legally dicey.