Moderators: richierich, ua900, PanAm_DC10, hOMSaR

smartt1982
Topic Author

Manual Flying In The Airline Industry

Sun Jul 17, 2011 11:35 am

Hello

Hoping for any feedback people are willing to provide. I am a current airline pilot myself and I am currently undertaking a research project for a course I am doing, I am doing the research on training in the airline industry but specifically manual flying in the industry. I have collected an amount of material on it already and I will be doing a survey on it from willing pilots in the industry in the next stage but if anyone has any info on the subject in general ie articles, opinions, your companies polIcy in particular on manual flying( don't have to mention names if you do not wish to). I have come across a number of articles and accident reports were it has been mentioned as the cause but if anyone has/knows of any particular related ones to the that topic I would love to hear about them in case there is any I have missed

Many thanks in advance

tb727

RE: Manual Flying In The Airline Industry

Tue Jul 19, 2011 2:55 am

Are you talking about hand-flying the airplane versus using the autopilot?
Too lazy to work, too scared to steal!

ILUV767

Tue Jul 19, 2011 7:09 pm

I fly a Beech 1900 without an autopilot installed in airline service. It doesnt get any more hands on than that.

n6238p

Wed Jul 20, 2011 12:24 am

I've talked to plenty of freight dogs out there that hand fly everything. There's an outfit in the Southwest US flying metroliners manually and they'll do 4-5hr + legs some times.
To actively root against anybody is just low, and I hope karma comes back at you with a vengeance

lowrider

Wed Jul 20, 2011 1:35 am

Company policy is mandatory use of autopilot in RVSM airspace, and "to use automation to the maximum extent possible consistent with safe, efficient, flight". Everything else is left to our discretion.
Proud OOTSK member

Lemmy

Wed Jul 20, 2011 2:28 am

Quoting lowrider (Reply 4):