Moderators: richierich, ua900, PanAm_DC10, hOMSaR

g38
Topic Author

Starting A Flying Club

Wed Mar 12, 2014 1:49 am

I'm a commercial aviation student at the University of North Dakota. I think I'd have changed my major a long time ago had it not been for a small local operation in my home town. I want to share that with my fellow students.

What would it take to start a flying club?

Obviously you'd have to have a group of people for an initial buy-in. You'd probably need a CFI involved and perhaps an A&P (someone to handle servicing). Someone else would have to handle record keeping. What about an aircraft? That seems like the biggest initial cost. I think you should be able to get a Cherokee or a C150 for ~$20k, but thats a huge sum of money to a broke college kid... or even 6-7 of them.

Does anyone have experience starting a flying club? What kind of start up cost would be involved for say 6 people initially? Would it be something that could become self sufficient?

[Edited 2014-03-11 19:07:05]

EricR

RE: Starting A Flying Club

Wed Mar 12, 2014 2:16 am

I am not clear on the objective of this mile high club. Can you elaborate on what this club is for?

9VSIO

Wed Mar 12, 2014 2:21 am

Quoting EricR (Reply 1):

I am not clear on the objective of this mile high club. Can you elaborate on what this club is for?

Presumably for pilots to fly planes.

This q might be better asked in tech/ops. You might get more serious answers there too.

Group flying is not without its pitfalls though. It is worth it if you do a high number of hours per year, but otherwise, renting might still be more economical.
Me: (Lining up on final) I shall now select an aiming point. || Instructor: Well, I hope it's the runway...

g38
Topic Author

Wed Mar 12, 2014 3:52 am